Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

MacFarlane Heritage Sites

 

Visiting Scotland Soon?

By Mary Helen Haines ©2012

www.clanmacfarlane.org

Here are some must-see places for Clan MacFarlane visitors

First for a quick overview, read an introduction to Clan History. Another source for information about the area comes from the Arrochar Heritage Society (The history article was written by Mary Helen Haines in 2005).

Good sites for the first time traveler.Explore Loch Lomond and About Loch Lomond.

When you travel to the area, the two most important and moving places to see are the two islands in Loch Lomond where ruins of former MacFarlane castles can be seen. You will need to rent a boat to visit. Allow about 3 hours. A possible place to rent:

MacFarlane owned enterprise: http://www.balmahaboatyard.co.uk/about.html

 Operating from Luss: http://www.loch-lomond.net/boating/lochlomondleisure.aspx

 

Clan Events Calendar


81st Embro Highland games
Sun Jul 1 through Sun Jul 1


Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 6 through Sun Jul 8


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 20 through Sat Jul 21


Glasgow Lands Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 21 through Sat Jul 21


Glengarry Highland Games
Fri Aug 3 through Sat Aug 4


The Monterey Scottish Games and Celtic Festival
Sat Aug 4 through Sun Aug 5


St. Andrew Annual Highland Games
Sat Aug 4 through Sat Aug 4


Fergus Scottish Festival and Highland Games
Fri Aug 10 through Sun Aug 12


Bitterroot Celtic Games and Gathering
Sat Aug 18 through Sun Aug 19


2018 Quechee Games
Sat Aug 25 through Sat Aug 25