Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

2017 Creag a’Phuirt, Almshouse Dig

2017Creag4

Between April 11th and April 19th, 2017 CMW worked with Calluna Archaeology to investigate what is likely the Alms House built by James MacFarlane in the 1600's. This site was identified as "Site 28" during the 2016 Walkover survey of the Arrochar Parish

 

 Abstract

An excavation was carried out on a site at Creag a’Phuirt on the west shore of Loch Lomond in 2017. It was thought that this might be an almshouse built by James Macfarlane opposite his house on Island I Vow between 1612 and 1625 to provide for travellers passing through the district. The building proved to be a small, well-built, slightly trapezoidal-shaped structure, with a slate roof, but no obvious entrance or fireplace. The floor consisted of re-deposited loch-side material with water-rolled stones and contained a sherd of late 16th/17th century window glass and a broken sherd of 17th century pottery. Considering its location and date, this structure may well have been the almshouse perhaps comprising two stories, with access from an outer stair. By the mid-19th century the walls had been robbed and the site left ruinous. 

 

  Click the attachment (visible with a paid membership) to download.

 

 

 2017Creag12017Creag2

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 20 through Sat Jul 21


Glasgow Lands Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 21 through Sat Jul 21


Glengarry Highland Games
Fri Aug 3 through Sat Aug 4


The Monterey Scottish Games and Celtic Festival
Sat Aug 4 through Sun Aug 5


St. Andrew Annual Highland Games
Sat Aug 4 through Sat Aug 4


Fergus Scottish Festival and Highland Games
Fri Aug 10 through Sun Aug 12


Bitterroot Celtic Games and Gathering
Sat Aug 18 through Sun Aug 19


2018 Quechee Games
Sat Aug 25 through Sat Aug 25


Virginia Scottish Games and Festival
Sat Sep 1 through Sun Sep 2


153rd Scottish Highland Gathering and Games
Sat Sep 1 through Sun Sep 2