Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

MacFarlane Heritage Sites

 

 

Visiting Scotland Soon?

By Mary Helen Haines ©2012

www.clanmacfarlane.org

 

Here are some must-see places for Clan MacFarlane visitors

First for a quick overview, read an introduction to Clan History. Another source for information about the area comes from the Arrochar Heritage Society (The history article was written by Mary Helen Haines in 2005).

Good sites for the first time traveler. About Loch Lomond.

When you travel to the area, the two most important and moving places to see are the two islands in Loch Lomond where ruins of former MacFarlane castles can be seen. You will need to rent a boat to visit. Allow about 3 hours. A possible place to rent:

MacFarlane owned enterprise: Balmaha Boatyard

 Operating from Luss: Loch Lomond: On the water

Explore Loch Lomond

Island I Vow (The island of the cow).

This article is courtesy of our friends at "EXPLORE LOCH LOMOND". They are as excited as I am to have MacFarlane's developing relationships with residents, in the Loch Lomond, Arrochar, Tarbet and Ardlui areas. We have linked with their website and they have reciprocated. 

Enjoy!

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Iron Thistle Scottish Festival - Cancelled
Fri Apr 24 through Sun Apr 26


Woodland Celtic Games & Festival - Cancelled
Sat Apr 25 through Sun Apr 26


Texas Scottish Festival & Highland Games
Fri May 1 through Sun May 3


53rd Alma Highland Festival and Games
Fri May 22 through Sun May 24


Alleghany County Celtic Festival - Cancelled
Fri Jun 5 through Fri Jun 5


Georgetown Highland games
Sat Jun 13 through Sat Jun 13


Caledonia Celtic Festival
Fri Jun 26 through Sat Jun 27


Embro Highland games - Cancelled
Wed Jul 1 through Wed Jul 1


21st Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 3 through Sun Jul 5


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 17 through Sat Jul 18