Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

MacFarlane Heritage Sites

Article Index

 

 

Visiting Scotland Soon?

By Mary Helen Haines ©2012

www.clanmacfarlane.org

 

Here are some must-see places for Clan MacFarlane visitors

First for a quick overview, read an introduction to Clan History. Another source for information about the area comes from the Arrochar Heritage Society (The history article was written by Mary Helen Haines in 2005).

Good sites for the first time traveler. About Loch Lomond.

When you travel to the area, the two most important and moving places to see are the two islands in Loch Lomond where ruins of former MacFarlane castles can be seen. You will need to rent a boat to visit. Allow about 3 hours. A possible place to rent:

MacFarlane owned enterprise: Balmaha Boatyard

 Operating from Luss: Loch Lomond: On the water

 

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20


Glasgow Lands Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 20 through Sat Jul 20


73rd Annual Pacific Northwest Scottish Highland Games and Clan Gathering
Fri Jul 26 through Sun Jul 28


Uxbridge Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 27 through Sat Jul 27


Glengarry Highland Games
Fri Aug 2 through Sat Aug 3


170th Saint Andrew's Society Highland Games - Detroit
Fri Aug 2 through Sat Aug 3


The Monterey Scottish Games and Celtic Festival
Sat Aug 3 through Sun Aug 4