Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Senator John McFarland III 1764-1820

MACFARLANE HERITAGE TRAIL

ANCESTOR: Senator John McFarland III
DATE OF BIRTH: Feb 28, 1764 PLACE: prob. Bedford Co. Virginia
PARENTS’ NAMES: John and Mary Kinder McFarland
CHILDREN’S NAMES: John (1787-1874) m. Mary Fleming; Anna (1790-1869) m. Joseph Hughes; William Bell (1792-1855) m. Nancy E. Smith; James E. (1795-1871) m. Jane Jackson; Rebecca (1798-1859) m. John Deaver; Mary (1800-1857) m. Jacob McFarland; Arthur (1803-1850) m. Elizabeth McClure, Trypheney Cambelle; Sarah Hale (1806-1877) m. Carroll George; Joseph (1809-abt. 1865) m. Mary Eliza McFarland; Nancy Caroline (1812-1909) m. Alexander Carson Sloan
MARRIAGE TO: Rebecca Bell PLACE: tradition says July 20, 1786 in VA
DATE OF DEATH: July 20, 1820
BURIAL: unknown place in Ste. Genevieve County, Missouri, probably on family land
RESIDENCES (List all, including years):
1. Big Otter River area, Bedford Co. Va 1764-1772 (See father’s sheet)
2. Reed Creek area, Montgomery Co. (Wythe County today) 1772-1784 (See father’s sheet)
3. Tennessee, south of the French Broad R. near Sevierville today: 1785 to 1799. (See father’s sheet)
4. Buncombe/Haywood County, North Carolina: 1799-1815
Not only did John III inherit his father’s land purchases, he made many investments of his own. He purchased land in the “flowery garden” on the east side of the Pigeon River, land along Richland Creek near present-day Waynesville, land along Beaverdam Creek, however his patent #1715 indicates the acreage where he lived.
Haywood County, NC:
Deed Book A, p. 16, State of North Carolina #1715. 160 acres purchase by John McFarland, Sr. at cost of 50 shillings for every 100 acres. County of Buncombe, east fork of the Pigeon River, including both sides where said McFarling now lives. Beginning on north side of William Cathey's branch, with Elijah Deaver's line. Entered Ap. 5, 1808. Warrant was originally issued to Joseph Henry. Signed by George Cathey and John Patton.

1808 N.C. Patent 1715 to John McFarland cropped

Register to read more ...

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Quechee Highland games
Sat Aug 24 through Sat Aug 24


Miramichi Scottish Festival
Sun Aug 25 through Sun Aug 25


154th Scottish Highland Gathering & Games
Sat Aug 31 through Sun Sep 1


Long's Peak Scottish-Irish Highland Festival
Thu Sep 5 through Sun Sep 8


Festival Celtique
Fri Sep 6 through Mon Sep 9


61st Ligonier Highland Games
Sat Sep 14 through Sun Sep 15


Niagara Celtic Heritage Festival
Sat Sep 14 through Sun Sep 15


Escalon Scottish Games
Sat Oct 12 through Sun Oct 13


47th Annual Stone Mountain Highland Games
Fri Oct 18 through Sun Oct 20


Tucson Celtic Festival and Scottish Highland games
Fri Nov 1 through Sun Nov 3