Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Twigs to Trees #33 December, 2018

Twigs to Trees

December,  2018

Mary Helen Haines

Happy Holiday Season everyone. For this column I have tried to put together the most recent results of the Big Y testers that fall into Block 5 of the Big Y tree, RDF63. I can remember when I first joined the project with my two male cousins’ kits in 2006. At that time, we were only looking at STRs and all of the men mentioned below do match with STRs with varying degrees of closeness. There was no way to determine if they were 4th cousins or 18th cousins. That now seems eons ago; so much progress has been made since then. Today, with the Big Y test, we are able to see the development of different lineages over time and begin to figure out how far back we are all connected within a haplogroup.

I just received the Big Y results from my cousin’s kit and we discovered a new SNP associated with our line, so now we can say that all male McFarland descendants of John McFarland, born 1739 in Lancaster Co. PA, who married Mary Kinder in VA around 1763, will carry this SNP. However, until we have a tester who descends from John and Mary Montgomery McFarland’s other sons, we will not know if this SNP begins with John and Mary Kinder McF. or goes back to the parent or the grandparent. So, I am putting out the call for more male McFarlands from this lineage of Robert McFarland, born abt. 1675 in northern Ireland, married to Jennet, to do the full Big Y test when they can afford it. Or, if you carry the SNP BY3019 and do not descend from John and Mary Kinder McFarland, your Big Y test results will add to our knowledge of this line. Where and when does BY3019 begin?

Register to read more ...

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Northeast Florida Games
Sat Feb 23 through Fri Feb 22


55th Annual Phoenix Scottish Games
Sat Mar 2 through Sun Mar 3


Dunedin Highland Games & Festival
Sat Apr 6 through Fri Apr 5


San Antonio Highland games & Celtic Music Festival
Sat Apr 6 through Sun Apr 7


Arkansas Scottish Festival
Fri Apr 12 through Sun Apr 14


Iron Thistle Scottish Festival
Fri Apr 26 through Sun Apr 28


Woodland Celtic Games & Festival - CMW AMM
Sat Apr 27 through Sun Apr 28


Rio Grande Valley Celtic Festival
Sat May 4 through Sun May 5


Texas Scottish Festival & Highland games
Fri May 10 through Sun May 12


Smoky Mountain Scottish Festival & Games
Sat May 18 through Sun May 19