Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Diaspora - 6 March 2019

Going to the Dogs

 

Steve and I have blended our families.  However, we blended when all our children were adults.  So instead of additional children, we did the most obvious thing to do, we brought home a dog.  Hamish, is a shitszu.  Not a Scottish dog, but our family member.  

At one of our favorite Highland Games, there is a parade on Saturday morning.  Thousands, yes thousands, line the streets of downtown Estes Park, Colorado.  The crowds cheer on the various Scottish Clans, piping bands, high school marching bands, steam engine cars, and dogs.  The dogs of Scotland not only walk in the parade, but they compete at the Games for a variety of awards.  But I will say, I've always been a bit confused on what is a Scottish dog, and what isn't.  I'm sure there are some very proud owners who "fudge" their baby's breed.

So that begs the question; what is a Scottish breed?  Of course I found a terrific website with info and pictures of the various Scottish breeds.  Interested in acquiring your own Scottish breed?  Try here:  http://www.infodogs.co.uk/dog-breeds/country/scotland

According to this very official-looking website, there are 9 breeds that originated in Scotland and of those, 5 of them are terriers.  So what are the 9 breeds?  

Bearded Collie

Cairn Terrier

Dandiee Dinmont Terrier

Gordon Setter

Scottish Deerhound

Scottish Sky-Terrier

Scottish Terrier

Shetland Sheepdog

West Highland White Terrier

So with that, time for me to share a loving photo of our Hamish.  Afterall, his name is Scottish!

Hamish

 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Alma Highland Festival and Games
Fri May 24 through Sun May 26


Glasgow Highland games
Fri May 31 through Sun Jun 2


Alleghany County Celtic Festival
Sat Jun 1 through Fri May 31


Salt Lake City Scottish Festival
Fri Jun 7 through Sun Jun 9


Georgetown Highland games
Sat Jun 8 through Sat Jun 8


56th Cobourg Scottish Festival & Highland games
Fri Jun 14 through Sat Jun 15


Caledonia Celtic Festival
Fri Jun 21 through Sat Jun 22


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20