Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Diaspora - 13 March 2019

"Flags, Flags, Everywhere There are Flags!"

 

You see them at all Scottish events.  You will see the familiar flag of Scotland, and that other one in yellow and red with a sort of lion on it.  Should you be waving all this stuff yourself?

 

Quite simply put:  NO.

 

So what is what?

This is the flag of Scotland.  Also known as St. Andrew's Cross.  Also known as the Saltire.

Saltire

We only need to turn to the authority of all things official in Scotland, the Court of the Lord Lyon, to learn more about when it is appropriate to fly this national flag.  This flag is the correct flag to fly for individuals or corporations.  We have seen this flag in various shades of blue, but we have been told the lighter blue is the correct color.

 

This is the Lion Rampant flag:

 

lion flag

 Again we go to the Court of the Lord Lyon for guidance (and the above graphic):

This is NOT a national flag.  Citizens and corporate bodies should not fly this flag.  "... use ... is entirely wrong."   WRONG!!  DO NOT FLY THIS FLAG!!

This is the Scottish Royal banner.  There are only a handful of individuals who may fly this banner, and that includes the The Sovereign (Queen Elizabeth).  And:

  • the First Minister as Keeper of the Great Seal of Scotland, 
  • Lord Lieutenants in their Lieutenancies, 
  • the Lord High Commissioner to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, 
  • the Lord Lyon King of Arms, 
  • and other lieutenants specially appointed.

If you fly it you are actualy breaking the law.  Imagine that!  Yes.  I've seen as many of these flying as you have.  It is actually listed as an offence under the Act of Parliament 1672 cap. 47 and 30 & 31 Vict. cap. 17.

No... you won't go to jail, but wouldn't you rather get it right?  So if you are hosting a Clan MacFarlane event, please be mindful of this.

 

We will cover personal banners, flags and more in the future, but this is enough for now.  If you would like to do your own research according to the guidance of the Lord Lyon, you can find more information here:  https://web.archive.org/web/20180419210503/http://www.lyon-court.com/lordlyon/375.html 

But we'll be back to discuss this again.  

 

 

 

 

 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Alma Highland Festival and Games
Fri May 24 through Sun May 26


Glasgow Highland games
Fri May 31 through Sun Jun 2


Alleghany County Celtic Festival
Sat Jun 1 through Fri May 31


Salt Lake City Scottish Festival
Fri Jun 7 through Sun Jun 9


Georgetown Highland games
Sat Jun 8 through Sat Jun 8


56th Cobourg Scottish Festival & Highland games
Fri Jun 14 through Sat Jun 15


Caledonia Celtic Festival
Fri Jun 21 through Sat Jun 22


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20