Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Diaspora - 11 April 2019

Say Cheese!

 

While we are packing our home, there aren't a ton of choices for dinner.  We are trying very hard to work through the food we have in store.  You know... canned soup, mac 'n cheese, frozen pizza, and sandwiches.  So tonight, it was mandarin orange stir fry vegetables (no... not recommended) and a Havarti grilled cheese sandwich.  

I love cheese.  The family owned a cheese shop and I learned about Jarlsburg, Gruyere, Gorgonzola, Brie, Gloucester, Stilton and on and on.  But tonight it occured to me that I had never heard of a good Scottish cheese.  Surely they exist.

And it appears that indeed, they do exist.  

How about a great Red Anster?  Alisa Craig?  Criffel?  Dunsyre Blue?  Morangie Brie?  Cambus o'May?  Wow!  I had no idea.  Now when in Scotland next year, I have added testing all these cheeses to my bucket list.  

Cheese

 

If you can stand reading all about this tempting cheese, then please follow this link to the same photo above, as well as a wonderful article about each of these varieties of cheese.  https://food.list.co.uk/article/29509-the-best-scottish-cheeses/ 

 

In the meantime, I might actually see if any of this is available outside Scotland.  Wouldn't it be fun to try these?!

 

 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20


Glasgow Lands Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 20 through Sat Jul 20


73rd Annual Pacific Northwest Scottish Highland Games and Clan Gathering
Fri Jul 26 through Sun Jul 28


Uxbridge Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 27 through Sat Jul 27


Glengarry Highland Games
Fri Aug 2 through Sat Aug 3


170th Saint Andrew's Society Highland Games - Detroit
Fri Aug 2 through Sat Aug 3


The Monterey Scottish Games and Celtic Festival
Sat Aug 3 through Sun Aug 4