Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Diaspora - 12 May 2019

Blather

 

What a great word!

Steve has 3 daughters.  When one of them, in particular, calls him, I can always tell it is her.  He says "hello" and then he doesn't say another word.  But I can hear the constant buzzing of chatter on the other end.  In the 23 years I've known him, this has always been the routine.  The call is never short.  Sometimes he will get up and wander around completing small tasks with the phone attached to his ear.  But he rarely says a thing.

In person, it isn't much different.  A very cheerful conversation that is driven by one line of thought process after another is the case.  I too have a cousin that is fascinating to listen to.  She's full of great stories, and somehow she manages to string them all together.  The upside of this is I don't really have to participate.  I just have to listen and give the obligatory nodding of the head from time to time.  The downside of this is that although fascinating and wonderful stories to hear, I don't get to participate.

When Steve and I went to Scotland on our very first trip, and when we were standing in a typical tourist trap store packed with thousands of souvenirs to select from, I spied a tshirt on an upper hanger in the far corner.  On it was the word:  Blather.

The Blather tshirt was followed with the following definition:  "To talk fooilishy at length -- often used with on."

Although I did not purchase gifts for everyone in the family, I convinced Steve to purchase this one tshirt.  Now, don't misunderstand me.  We love this child.  She also has a good sense of humor.  So she liked her gift.  At least we believe she liked it.

And would I ever change the way she or my cousin chatter away?  Never.  So, child - Blather on!

Love, Mom and Dad (On this Mother's Day)

 

 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Alma Highland Festival and Games
Fri May 24 through Sun May 26


Glasgow Highland games
Fri May 31 through Sun Jun 2


Alleghany County Celtic Festival
Sat Jun 1 through Fri May 31


Salt Lake City Scottish Festival
Fri Jun 7 through Sun Jun 9


Georgetown Highland games
Sat Jun 8 through Sat Jun 8


56th Cobourg Scottish Festival & Highland games
Fri Jun 14 through Sat Jun 15


Caledonia Celtic Festival
Fri Jun 21 through Sat Jun 22


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20